Creating My Blog, or Here Lies Desperation

So. I’ve written a book and I want to get all 400+ pages of it published. Well, I should be clear: it will be published because I’ve paid one of those online self-publishing companies to do so. The question is, how will I move those babies out of the garage and into the wide world? I am such a neophyte at this that I actually thought of Oprah until I realized 1) she wasn’t doing her book club anymore, and 2) the chances of her picking my book would’ve been slim to none anyway. So let’s get realistic.

The online self-publishing company (OK, it’s IUniverse) is asking me for a mere twelve meta tags so people can find my volume online. Sounds so easy. But have you Googled “Pierce” anytime lately? There are more than 38,000,000 hits for that. That’s 38 million. Now, how is my needle ever going to be found in that haystack?

So I went to see a woman who specializes in figuring out effective meta tags. After an hour and a half, she told me that my subject was so broad and all-encompassing that it was going to be up to me to get my book out into the world myself (c’mon Oprah, one more season?).

This is such a daunting task it makes me feel queasy just thinking about it. I’m so bad at soliciting for things, asking favors, seeing if my neighbors have extra room in their yard waste barrel; I can’t even bring myself to ask for stuff for our zendo’s annual silent auction. But I want more than my family, my friends, my book club and my bridge group to read this. I don’t want a pity read; I want an anonymous reader, an out-of-the-blue reader. I want it to stand on its own merits.

What it’s about I’ll tell you in my next post. I’m just too exhausted from creating my own header to write anymore.

About Holly J. Pierce

You thought vacationing with small children was hard? Try traveling with your two daughters in their 20's, yet be glad that you have your peace-mongering husband along. Put it all together with your own laser vision of an epic journey and you have the basis for my book. Will I ever see it published? Will those self-published volumes ever move out of the garage? We'll see, won't we.
This entry was posted in Family travel. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Creating My Blog, or Here Lies Desperation

  1. mary says:

    I don’t know from meta tags, but I relate to death knells, grouchy monument guards, and the exceptional opportunity of a 100 year journey…
    What else you got there, Holly?

  2. patty says:

    I feel your pain, but the path will become clear. You are moving in the correct direction.

  3. Linda says:

    Ahh…..the meta tags!! Travel, Diary, Europe, Egypt……hmmm! You want to use words that are actually on the web pages you want people to be finding. So, what pages are you directing them to? Also, “the best way to drive traffic to your site is with link exchanges”. Meaning, ask people to put a link to your site in exchange for putting a link to their sites on yours. I love reading this and look forward to reading the book!!

Leave a Reply

