Schmoozin’/On a Sunday Afternoon . . .

Actually, we started in the afternoon but it was more like the evening by the time we got to South San Francisco. This was an event for Kiva volunteer editors and translators at this delicious Senegalese restaurant. I do editing for Kiva, sort of a clearinghouse linking small microfinance companies all over the world with individuals willing to lend $25 to finance a loan to, say, some woman running a sari-sari shop in the Philippines (www.kiva.org). Very worthwhile; I urge you to visit their site.

Anyway, I’d never been to a Kiva affair, as they were always in San Francisco, and that meant an hour and a half-plus, what with the crawl through the city and finding parking. But I took Richard along and was glad I did, because whenever people asked what I did besides Kiva editing, he would pipe up, “She’s written a book!” which was my signal to pass out my business cards to which I’d stuck labels on the back with my blog and Facebook info. Then I’d get to explain what the book was about and people would say, “That sounds interesting!” and so my ulterior motive for attending was satisfied: trying my best in every not-so-subtle way to get my book out there.

An aside regarding this blog title: so this morning I’m thinking of this song while Richard was getting dressed, and I said, “Rich, remember how the last part goes, ‘You and me . . .?'” “Endlessly,” he finished it off. Well, phew. All these decades I’d wondered what Leslie had to do with this song, you know, like “You and me and Leslie.” Nice to know it wasn’t a menage a trois after all.

About Holly J. Pierce

You thought vacationing with small children was hard? Try traveling with your two daughters in their 20's, yet be glad that you have your peace-mongering husband along. Put it all together with your own laser vision of an epic journey and you have the basis for my book. Will I ever see it published? Will those self-published volumes ever move out of the garage? We'll see, won't we.
This entry was posted in Family travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

