Into Thy Hands I Commend My Book–No, Wait!

I did it. I finally did it. I uploaded my manuscript (my MSS? doesn’t that sound swell?) to IUniverse. And immediately realized I’d omitted vital parts, like the dedication, the acknowledgments, table of contents, etc. Let me take it back! I didn’t mean it! Oh oh oh. But no; once you upload it, they don’t let you tinker with it until it’s out of the editorial department. Then you’re allowed one more crack at it before they start dinging you for changes.

But wait! I do have an excuse. The way they have you submit your MSS is this step-by-step process where they ask you for certain info on each page. So it’s like you might keep waiting for certain requests to come up, like the table of contents. The problem with that one is that when you submit your work, they ask you (reasonably, for layout’s sake) not to number the pages. But if the pages aren’t numbered, well, I think you could see the problem with this.

So, I’ve already blown that; now I’ve been told that all those things mentioned above were supposed to be included in the main body of the work, with page breaks setting off the dedication, etc. But–how are they going to know how you wanted them formatted on their pages? Little sticky notes? I don’t even know how to do those.

Then there’s the real stumper of a request. Apparently I neglected to think about the one hardback copy they’re going to make me. On the back of the dust jacket I’m supposed to have “traditionally either an excerpt or endorsements (300 words max).” Have you taken a look at the back of any hardbacks lately? They’re totally gushing snippets of praise written by other authors  (in league with each other?) or excerpts from media reviews, both of which I have none.

So that leaves me with an excerpt. Please. I haven’t a clue what that should be. I’ve written to Leah, my Check-In Coordinator, to send me some samples of how other authors have handled this. Usually she gets back to me pretty promptly, but there’s been this ominous silence since I’ve questioned her. So how’s about a nice photo? A little sketch? What? If I’m only going to get one, does it matter? Ideas, anyone?

About Holly J. Pierce

You thought vacationing with small children was hard? Try traveling with your two daughters in their 20's, yet be glad that you have your peace-mongering husband along. Put it all together with your own laser vision of an epic journey and you have the basis for my book. Will I ever see it published? Will those self-published volumes ever move out of the garage? We'll see, won't we.
This entry was posted in Family travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Into Thy Hands I Commend My Book–No, Wait!

  1. Nancy Johnson says:

    Will you have a description of the plot of the book on the overleaves front and back? (along with a great picture of yourself smizing). If so you won’t need to put that on the back. So on the back you could have a description of your stage in life that people of our age could relate to. Like making something monumental like a book. But it should be humorous and engaging—make the reader wants to meet you, live vicariously thru you and find out how you pulled this off with the daughters. Make the book sound entertaining and not dry…you are good at doing this! Go for it. Use a picture from your trip with family in it.

Leave a Reply

