Watch Your Step

Remember how Leah, my IUniverse Intake Coordinator, e-mailed me to say that I’d forgotten to include the copy for the back of the dust jacket for the single hardback copy they’re going to make me? Well, I got that sorted out today, sent it off, then received a message back from her in Indiana saying, “Due to inclement weather, I have left the office for the day.” Crikey! At least I wasn’t booked on one of American Airlines’ 50%-of-all-flights nationwide that were canceled.

Meanwhile, look at Egypt. It’s all gone to hell in a handbasket. What if we’d been there now? Or if I’d gone to Tunisia when Ben Ali got the boot? All this sturm und drang, both political and climatological, certainly makes one realize how fragile that which we take for granted really is. Anything can happen–and does.

So here I am, naively mocking Ben Ali, whose visage appeared everywhere in Tunisia, unaware that if I’d been a Tunisian citizen, I’d probably have been truncheoned multiple times, then thrown into some skanky hole of a prison to rot.

About Holly J. Pierce

You thought vacationing with small children was hard? Try traveling with your two daughters in their 20's, yet be glad that you have your peace-mongering husband along. Put it all together with your own laser vision of an epic journey and you have the basis for my book. Will I ever see it published? Will those self-published volumes ever move out of the garage? We'll see, won't we.
This entry was posted in Family travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

