Elvis Is In The Building

Okay, up to page 258 out of 428. It’s drizzling and 48 degrees outside, and editing is so totally BORING. Did you know that “t-shirt” is correctly spelled “T-shirt”? Did you know that it’s called a T-shirt because the shirt is shaped like a T? If it were a “t-shirt,” it would have to be for someone with a really long neck. O I am so bored!

It’s much more fun to surf YouTube for appropriate songs for Katie’s wedding (I didn’t know about Allison Krauss, but now I do; what a sweet voice). Actually, what’s happening is that I’m compiling a list of songs that Katie and Jake wouldn’t necessarily know about, like songs from the days when I was their age or even younger. What a trip down memory lane, and what amazing composers you finally realize the Beatles were! And on YouTube you have the opportunity to decide who you think is singing the song the best. Then you feel all sentimental and a little melancholic as well, hearing these songs and thinking of days long past. So here’s my list so far:

The Way You Look Tonight, Tony Bennett
In My Life, Jake Shimabukuro
What A Wonderful World, Louis Armstrong OR combo by IZ of Wonderful World and
Somewhere Over the Rainbow
Con Te Partiro, Andrea Bocelli
Unchained Melody, Righteous Brothers
I Will, Allison Krauss (but a Beatles song)
Here, There & Everywhere, the Beatles
The Look of Love, Diana Krall
Unforgettable, Nat King Cole and Natalie Cole
All of Me, Billie Holiday
As Time Goes By, Peggy Lee
Simply The Best, Tina Turner
The Touch of Your Lips, Nat King Cole
I’ll Never Find Another You, The Seekers (1968)
Someone To Watch Over Me, Amy Winehouse or Lady Gaga
The First Time, Roberta Flack
At Last, Etta James
Can’t Help Falling in Love With You, Elvis Presley
I Promise (Wedding Song), CeCe Winans

So tell me, what have I missed? All suggestions gratefully received!

About Holly J. Pierce

You thought vacationing with small children was hard? Try traveling with your two daughters in their 20's, yet be glad that you have your peace-mongering husband along. Put it all together with your own laser vision of an epic journey and you have the basis for my book. Will I ever see it published? Will those self-published volumes ever move out of the garage? We'll see, won't we.
This entry was posted in Family travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Elvis Is In The Building

  1. Nancy Johnson says:

    Please oh please take out the Roberta Flack song. I draw the line on that one. It is so painfully slow and laborious that I know I would start to spazz out and do a little pantomime along with it. It would not be pretty. Other than that, good job!

  2. Zara Raab says:

    I look forward to following your blog, Holly.
    All best,
    Zara

Leave a Reply

