Buttery Yellow Blooper

Well, the end is in sight: I’m up to page 400! Only 27 pages to go. And once I’m done? Then I guess I’m supposed to submit it for the final look-see, and then it goes on to the part where it gets formatted into book form. Kathi, my iUniverse go-between, said I will have a much easier time of it than most other authors because I know what a font is and because of my work with Pagemaker (remember that program, AKA “RageMaker”?) and Photoshop.

Oh sure, I’m so great at all that. Today we received Katie’s wedding invitations that I’d designed on 123Press.com. Really very pretty, the theme being “Buttery Yellow Bouquet” (I always did want to be that person who names paint swatches; wouldn’t that be cool?) and a font with a nice serif (those curly ends) but not overdone. Seventy-five of them, and Richard takes a look and says, “Where’s the date?”

Oh crap. I hoped he was kidding, but no; no date. You would know the ceremony was at “two o’clock in the afternoon,” but as to when? Take a guess. How could I have left off the date??

Fortunately, doing it myself meant that they were a fraction of the cost of those ones you find in the giant Crane binders in your local stationer’s store and still looked nice. Unfortunately, now that I had to redo them, they were going to cost twice as much. At least we’d have extra envelopes if we botched some addresses.

Well, that’s what you get when you try to cut corners. As for ever more corners, since Katie found out that ordering the bridesmaid dresses from David’s Bridal would mean they would arrive two days after the ceremony, I now only hope our experience ordering them directly from the manufacturer in Beijing works out okay. When I e-mailed to ask what the fastest shipping method was, I got this reply:

“Thanks for your interesting to this dress.
“As my experience, TNT is faster to US and not expensive. If you want it so urgent, i think you should place the order ASAP, and remark the color.
“Best Regards,
“Wendy”

You’d think I’d learn, wouldn’t you? Oh dear mother, I can only pray that this one turns out okay.

About Holly J. Pierce

You thought vacationing with small children was hard? Try traveling with your two daughters in their 20's, yet be glad that you have your peace-mongering husband along. Put it all together with your own laser vision of an epic journey and you have the basis for my book. Will I ever see it published? Will those self-published volumes ever move out of the garage? We'll see, won't we.
This entry was posted in Family travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

