The Chinese Candy Shop

Hmm, maybe I’d better change the name of this blog to “Getting Married, or Climb Every Mountain.” Not that I’m the one getting married; my daughter is. But I may as well be, what with all of the work involved. And I thought acting as executor of my parents’ estate was difficult! Well, it was harder than this, but this is simply fraught because there’s no understanding as to who is doing what. That’s bad.

As for the book, I have been working on it sporadically and am close to turning it in the second time. I spent a whole day going through the manuscript to make sure I’d used “that” and “which” correctly. Now there’s a boring and challenging task. After getting dinged for poor grammar and punctuation, I’m absolutely paranoid about catching mistakes. And with that comes a heightened awareness when I’m reading a book or the paper. I just finished a book in which a character’s last name goes from Albertson to Anderson and back. Oh dear.

So tomorrow I should be devoting myself to getting this book off to iUniverse, but no, Katie and I will be keeping an appointment with the baker of the wedding cake. Ugh, more decisions. And we’ve yet to hire a florist! Yes, it’s late, but that’s what I mean about who thinks who’s doing what. Face it, Mom; you’re doing it. At least we got the bridesmaid shoes and Liz actually seemed to like them, despite the sparkly T-strap part. And they’re even yellow. We are still waiting with bated breath for the dress itself to show up.

Now, here’s the cool part, and guys can just skip this part. After a footsore day in classy Healdsburg looking for the dreaded “Mother of the Bride” ensemble and only finding something passable but also $500+ dollars, it occurred to me that I, too, could go on the website from which we’re ordering the bridesmaid dresses and see what they have for MOTBs. Oh wow, the dresses are all fabulous–which should I pick? Most were around $50-75, and the highest price I found was one for $148. But that’s what comes of ordering direct from China and cutting out the middleman. I even found one dress identified as a “David’s Bridal” dress. David’s Bridal tells you it’s going to take 12 weeks for the dress to come in, where these sweatshops in China tell you it will take 15 days to make the dress in any color you want and according to your exact measurements and then will ship it to you via UPS. In case you want to check this out, ladies, the website is dhgate.com.

Oh wait, did I say . . . sweatshop? China? Well, let’s be frank: that dress I found for $500 came from Europe, and the woman said that prices for good quality European dresses are only going to keep rising. So what choice do we have? Sew it myself? When? I haven’t found a “Made in the U.S.A.” website for dresses. So it’s back to the Chinese candy shop. Which should I pick, item 76541529 or 87550469? Really; I think I’ll order both and just be politically incorrect.

About Holly J. Pierce

You thought vacationing with small children was hard? Try traveling with your two daughters in their 20's, yet be glad that you have your peace-mongering husband along. Put it all together with your own laser vision of an epic journey and you have the basis for my book. Will I ever see it published? Will those self-published volumes ever move out of the garage? We'll see, won't we.
This entry was posted in Family travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Chinese Candy Shop

  1. lochrie59 says:

    You’re a great word smith, Ms. Holly!

Leave a Reply

