Dodged That Bullet

Book: so how’s the book going? A small snafu: at the beginning I want to use the line from Paul Theroux’s book Dark Star Safari where he says, “Nothing is more revealing of character than the experience of travel.” So absolutely fitting for the book, except–I can’t remember where in the book I read it. I probably should know if I’m going to use it, right? So I’m enjoying a second reading of the book while my book stalls out, waiting for the citation which should just pop right out at me. I can even remember being so excited the moment I read it! This is perfect! I thought. Well, it’s bound to be in there somewhere.

On to the wedding preps. So, originally this past Saturday was supposed to be when Katie and Jake wanted to get married. We had foolishly plunged headlong into signing up for the ceremony to be held at the Bodega Bay Yacht Club, not really realizing just how ridiculously expensive it was going to be. I know, she wanted a beach wedding, but in March? I don’t think so. So with weather and price against this proposition, we bowed out and lost our $500 deposit.

Wait, when did I say that ceremony was supposed to be? Yes, last Saturday, and you know what happened only 24 hours or so before: the big quake in Japan. Horrible, horrifying disaster, and the repercussions continue. At least the big buildings in Tokyo didn’t collapse, due to the Japanese’ superb structural engineering. But the quake was offshore, and so the disaster was multiplied by the huge tsunami that was generated.

And so it rushed, 500 mph, across the open Pacific, causing damage to California harbors in Crescent City and Santa Cruz. Nothing like Japan, but enough to call for tsunami warnings all along the coastline, like in, hey, right: Bodega Bay.


Now, wouldn’t that have been a lark? Let’s set up the little trellis, get out the folding chairs, have all the guests troop down to the site and then have to pack it all in because the rangers are telling everyone to get off the beach. Hmm: wedding canceled due to tsunami.  Gosh, that would even have beat Richard’s and my wedding when I spent the night with the stomach flu, barfing my guts out at the venerable Huntington Sheraton, only to return home the next day to find the rest of the wedding party had it, too. Our special gift from the little flower girl. Believe me, I did not send her a thank you note for that one.

About Holly J. Pierce

You thought vacationing with small children was hard? Try traveling with your two daughters in their 20's, yet be glad that you have your peace-mongering husband along. Put it all together with your own laser vision of an epic journey and you have the basis for my book. Will I ever see it published? Will those self-published volumes ever move out of the garage? We'll see, won't we.
This entry was posted in Family travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

