Selling Brooms

Damn–still can’t find that Paul Theroux quote. Now I’ve skimmed the book twice, and further more, I’ve skimmed The Great Railway Bazaar, which I took to Europe, twice as well. I even skimmed over an Oliver Sacks book I read about his trip to Oaxaca to search for ferns (I know, what does this say about my reading habits). This is discouraging, as it is the single thing that is holding up my submission to the publishers.

I did Google “travel quotes” and searched through every site they listed to see if I could find the line. Now I’m thinking my chosen epigraph was in reality just a throwaway that no one latched onto, because there were quotations of his that were cited, as well as countless others by other renowned authors. I didn’t even look at them. I want this quote for my book.

However, I noticed an interesting thing: in all of those sites with all of those listings, none of them told you in what work the author had written the quotation in question. Hmm; maybe I can just go ahead and stick that line in there and not worry about which book it resides in. I strongly doubt that Paul Theroux will ever know about my book, and even if he did, I think he’d be pleased to think he’d written that particular line. Or maybe not.

Meanwhile, the wedding. We’re actually at a sort of lull right now, as all of our people (or “peeps”) are lined up. Now it’s details. Yesterday Katie and I went to Sequoia Floral, a wholesale/retail business down on the seedier end of Santa Rosa Avenue and were absolutely thrilled by the vast selection of cheap, Chinese-made glass vases to be used for the table decorations. Eight vases for $34! What a bargain! And we found out where all those glass vases for funeral flowers come from. I mean, wow.

I also did some editing for Kiva as well. First up was a couple from Cambodia. The husband made four U.S. dollars for a full day of construction work. His wife made four U.S. dollars a day selling brooms. And you think, but it must be so much cheaper to live there. Yet: they spent $60 a month on food and $55 minimum on other necessities. They wanted a loan to buy a motorbike, as they had no personal transportation.

And here I am just slapping down the ol’ credit card for $34 in vases. No problem. Yeah, it costs more to live here. But I’m not out selling brooms to make a living. Sometimes you just have to count your blessings.

 

About Holly J. Pierce

You thought vacationing with small children was hard? Try traveling with your two daughters in their 20's, yet be glad that you have your peace-mongering husband along. Put it all together with your own laser vision of an epic journey and you have the basis for my book. Will I ever see it published? Will those self-published volumes ever move out of the garage? We'll see, won't we.
This entry was posted in Family travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

